Stephen Leary 'TerribleFire' The man behind the open source accelerators

Started by Anemos, 12-03-2017, 10:38:34

Previous topic - Next topic

Anemos

An interesting interview from flashback computing.com
"Stephen Leary was our honored guest here in Flashback-Computing"
source : http://flashback-computing.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=1456

Stephen Leary, also known as TerribleFire in the retro community is the man and the brain behind the open source accelerator boards for the Amiga and Atari home computers.
A kind soul where he shares his knowledge with all of us, by giving the schematics and code of his work!
While listening some mods on EaglePlayer, we had a conversation about his projects.
He kindly shared his time with me for an interview about himself and his efforts.

Sit back and relax, here we go.

Flashback: So, tell us a few things about you.

TerribleFire: I am Stephen. I am a software engineer from Glasgow. I studied Electronics & Electrical Engineering here in Glasgow. I love to fly aeroplanes, go running and play with retro computers.

Flashback: Aeroplanes!!! That's fantastic!
When was your first touch with computers?

TerribleFire: Probably aged 5 when the BBC Micro appeared at our local school. I remember seeing it but we weren't allowed to use it unattended. I got a Spectrum when I was 7 and started programming then.

Flashback: So later after coding, did you start making hardware and if you did what was it?

TerribleFire: I had to make all sorts of hardware for my degree. But most of them either had embedded processors or were analog devices like amplifiers etc. Then a few years ago (2011) I bought myself a Digilent Atlys and stared developing FPGA models in verilog. I ported Mike Stirling's BBC FPGA to verilog and made an Atari ST model. Eventually I produced the Archimedes model for the MiST board.

Flashback: That is quite a large work you did.
What about your present projects. What you're fighting with these days.